Back to All Events

Borodin - The Composer

  • Holywell Music Room Holywell St Oxford, OX1 United Kingdom (map)

Today’s lecture highlighted Borodin the scientist; tonight we turn to his other profession, that of composer, with among others his String Sextet. Also represented are his friends and colleagues Tchaikovsky, with 3 pieces for viola and piano, and Glazunov with his String Quintet Op. 39. Completing a Russian evening is Stravinsky’s “Soldiers Tale” in the Trio arrangement.  

Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro - piano
Amandine Savary - piano

Paul Dean - clarinet
Jack Liebeck - violin
Sara Trickey - violin
Gérard Caussé - viola
Simon Oswell - viola
Christian-Pierre La Marca - cello
Thomas Carroll - cello

A. Borodin - 3 pieces from the Petite Suite
A. Borodin - String Sextet in D Minor
P. Tchaikovsky - 3 pieces for Viola and Piano:

Mélodie, de “Souvenir d’un lieu cher”, Op. 42 no. 3;
Nocturne Op. 19 No. 4;
Valse Sentimentale Op. 51 no. 6;

I. Stravinsky - Soldiers Tale (Trio version)
A. Glazunov - String Quintet in A Major, Op. 39